Praise In The Storm

This morning during my hour-long commute to work, I listened to the radio waves fill my car with music in a break from the constant flow of bad news that seems to be everywhere this week. I was struck by the following lyrics of a song from the group Casting Crowns:

And I’ll praise You in this storm
And I will lift my hands
For You are who You are
No matter where I am
And every tear I’ve cried
You hold in Your hand
You never left my side
And though my heart is torn
I will praise You in this storm

I thought the message appropriate for two reasons. First, it was actually raining pretty hard at the moment – seriously. Second, in light of this week’s horrific events, it’s a reminder that God is always present no matter the circumstances, and that we should always praise Him and give Him thanks. His grace and mercy, though sometimes difficult to see, is always there. We should hope to have the faith that, in the face of personally traumatic events, stands firm and remains unshaken.

I can’t think of a better example at the moment than Horatio Spafford. Upon learning of the deaths of his four daughters who drowned during a tragic trans-Atlantic voyage, Spafford wrote the lyrics to the hymn, It Is Well With My Soul:

When peace like a river, attendeth my way,
When sorrows like sea billows roll;
Whatever my lot, Thou hast taught me to say,
It is well, it is well, with my soul.

Though Satan should buffet, though trials should come,
Let this blest assurance control,
That Christ has regarded my helpless estate,
And hath shed His own blood for my soul.

My sin, oh, the bliss of this glorious thought!
My sin, not in part but the whole,
Is nailed to the cross, and I bear it no more,
Praise the Lord, praise the Lord, O my soul!

4 responses to “Praise In The Storm

  1. Scott, This is refreshing! It’s so nice to hear about God’s grace that is so prevalent in the midst of our troubles. Thank you for the reminder.

    Like

Leave a Reply

