When You Feel Like Throwing In The Towel

throw-in-the-towel

Life is a master at creating and dishing out adversity. We set out chasing a dream, fulfilling a vision that has set us afire with passion, but all too often we encounter roadblock after roadblock, obstacle after obstacle, setback after setback. The course we’ve embarked upon becomes littered with disappointment. And, despite the increase in intensity and frequency of our paddling, the shore seems to shrink along the horizon instead of looming larger in the foreground. Invariably, we all reach that critical juncture – that breaking point – when we must choose to either forge ahead or admit that the dream was too big for us to achieve.

But, as Mac Davis said, “There ain’t nothing left to do but bury a man when his dreams are gone.” So, in order to avoid a premature burial, how do we continue in pursuit of our dreams when we’re depleted, can’t stand the hammering any longer, and we’ve got nothing left in us?

A helpful tool is to adopt The Code of Persistence:
1. I will never give up as long as I know I’m right
2. I will always believe things will work out for me as long as
I hang on to the end
3. I will be courageous and undismayed in the face of the odds
4. I will never permit anyone to intimidate or deter me from my
goals
5. I will fight to overcome all physical handicaps and setbacks
6. I will try again and again and again to accomplish what I
desire
7. I will take comfort in the knowledge that all successful
people have had to overcome defeat and adversity
8. I will never surrender to my defeat or despair

Adversity will always test our commitment and passion. There will always be someone to tell us we’re wrong. Difficulties will always arise that tempt us with self-doubt. So, when we get to the end of our rope, we need to “tie a knot and hang on,” as FDR once said. We can do this by reminding ourselves to remain persistent in the chasing of our dreams.

“Many of life’s failures are people who did not realize how close they were to success when they gave up,” said Thomas Edison. He’s right. We need to hang on to our passion and persist – even when it feels like there’s nothing left to do but throw in the towel.

5 responses to “When You Feel Like Throwing In The Towel

  1. I have been at that place many times on this writing journey. I pray and ask God if this is really what He wants. I tell myself I should quit wasting my time and get on with whatever it is I really should be doing. For some reason only God knows, I am never able to lay it down and walk away. I think it must be some selfishness in me that clings to this long held dream. Certainly, there must be a lot of people out there who hold on to the dream of writing a book and many of them have found a way to do it by publishing it themselves. Perhaps it is my need for validation that keeps me seeking publication through the traditional means. Whatever it is, I know this, I can’t quit writing. I’ve tried for almost thirty years. Thanks for this post as a reminder to keep going.

    Like

    • Anytime, Linda. I believe God plants the dreams He has for us in our hearts, and beacuse of that they don’t fade. His dreams challenge and stretch us, and as a result we’ll always have to overcome some adversity along the way. No matter how rough the waters may get, never doubt he planted those dreams in your heart for a reason. You can do it!

      Like

  2. Thanks, Scott. I just read this, and I needed to hear it today.  I wish you all the best, and pray your family, your life, and your day is going well. Thank the Lord, He’s always there!   Azalea Dabill  Editor and Author Mythic Fantasy

    Crossover: Find the Eternal, the Adventure

    Dynamos Press

    Website: www.azaleadabill.com  Email: azaleadabill@gmail.com Twitter: http://twitter.com/AzaleaDabill

    Pinterest: http://www.pinterest.com/azaleadabill

    GoodReads:  https://www.goodreads.com/user/show/10067218-azalea-dabill Shelfari: http://www.shelfari.com/azalea-dabill LinkedIn: http://www.linkedin.com/pub/azalea-dabill/66/bb4/210/

    Get a signature like this: Grab yours!

    Like

Leave a Reply

